XP3200 Keep Freezing

gmloki

Part of the furniture
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
632
Help needed

I have built a new PC with the following spec

XP3200
MSI K7N2Delta Motherboard
1gb PC3200 DDR RAM
FX5200 Graphics Card
Windows XP Home Edition with service pack 1


When it loads up Knights of the old republic or jedi academy it freezes on the menu screen. After checking the bios the CPU FSB frequency is set to 200. That is the only way that it can recognise it as an XP3200. Now if it is changed to 166 or Auto the system runs as an Athlon XP2500 with a lower clock speed. Games run fine with no system hangs. In the manual that came with the motherboard it said that the system may hang if over clocked. As you can see I have not tried to overclock the system.

Any suggestions or have I overlooked something really elementary ?
 

TdC

Trem's hunky sex love muffin
Joined
Dec 20, 2003
Messages
30,693
tried flashing your mobo's bios to it's latest version (if it has one) mate?
 

jakswan

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
11
Odd choice of Graphics card?

Sounds like either the CPU or memory isn't upto the job to me. I assume it is a 400fsb XP CPU in which case I would suspect the RAM first as that's more common.

Does it pass memtest that may help to isolate it.
 

gmloki

Part of the furniture
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
632
jakswan said:
Odd choice of Graphics card?

Sounds like either the CPU or memory isn't upto the job to me. I assume it is a 400fsb XP CPU in which case I would suspect the RAM first as that's more common.

Does it pass memtest that may help to isolate it.
Cheers. What is memtest ? never used it What RAM would you recommend and would you say that the settings I had were adequate to run the system

Thanks
 

jakswan

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
11
http://www.memtest86.com/

DDR400 RAM should run at 200fsb, but if it's faulty....

All settings sound ok, more likely something is faulty, i.e. it needs to be sent back. It's finding out what is the prob.

If it's stable underclocked maybe the CPU isn't up to the job of running at the speed it shipped as.
 

SilverHood

FH is my second home
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
2,154
Try setting memory performance to 80%

Solved my freezing problems.
 

gmloki

Part of the furniture
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
632
SilverHood said:
Try setting memory performance to 80%

Solved my freezing problems.
Is that done through BIOS ?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom