Keeping an old number

Wij

I am a FH squatter
I've no experience in keeping old numbers and PAC codes and such.

I shall (probably) be leaving my employer very shortly. They say they have a process for transferring the number.

I have a personal mobile from Virgin that I use to ring the Mrs but it's only 100 mins and no internet. They'd gouge me badly if I tried to increase it. I'm thinking of getting a new phone on PAYG this month (before leaving). Can I use the number I'm given until I leave and then transfer my old number somehow onto it ?

I don't understand this shit sorry :(

inactionman

Can't get enough of FH
Yes, phone up Vermin and ask for a PAC code. They'll issue you one by text within 2 hours, assuming you aren't locked into a contract.

Then you phone up whoever you got the PAYG from (not Vermin, you can't transfer within a provider) and ask them to apply the PAC.

Wij

I am a FH squatter
Yes, phone up Vermin and ask for a PAC code. They'll issue you one by text within 2 hours, assuming you aren't locked into a contract.

Then you phone up whoever you got the PAYG from (not Vermin, you can't transfer within a provider) and ask them to apply the PAC.

Vermin ?

Wij

I am a FH squatter
Vermin, Virgin. Potatoe, potato...

No no. I don't want the Virgin number noone uses that. Forget the Virgin number entirely :) I want my work number.

If they get me the PAC code I can transfer it onto a PAYG sim at any time ?

inactionman

Can't get enough of FH
Yes. I'd wait until the day you leave though. The process is supposed to take 24 hours from today.

MYstIC G

Official Licensed Lump of Coal™ Distributor
Staff member
FH Subscriber
What inactionman said. If you're worried about burning bridges you might want to speak to them before you do it though because I'd imagine that work number on work contract = strictly speaking their phone number.

Ch3tan

I aer teh win!!