Advice Ski wear

old.user4556

Has a sexy sister. I am also a Bodhi wannabee.
Gents,

I took up skiing earlier in the year, got a chunk of lessons on real snow indoors and I quite fancy getting away at Christmas onto a proper slope.

I've got some basic clothing for skiing in (all of it from The North Face):

- 'warm' base layers for top and bottom
- waterproof trousers
- gloves
- waterproof / breathable jacket (mildly insulated, not a ski jacket though)
- Windstopper neck gaiter and a Windstopper ear thingy (both of which I use hillwalking)

Given that the indoor snow place is -5c and has no windchill, my waterproof trousers and jacket will probably not be suitable for somewhere that's colder and windier (my gloves, socks, neck gaiter and ear thingy will all be fine), not to mention my jacket is missing some other basic ski bits like powder skirt and a hood that has enough room for a helmet.

I'm a noob and haven't been to a ski resort, so what sort of things should I look for regarding insulated ski trousers and ski jacket? For hillwalking, I layer my clothing (base layer for wicking, mid layer fleece and gore tex outer shell) and I've read around the web about adopting the same layering for skiing, but I also appreciate it's considerably colder than hillwalking so may need something a bit warmer and more suitable for skiing.

Any advice? How do you layer (if at all)? Is a down jacket going to be too warm? How cold is it up a mountain?

ECA

I am a FH squatter
Please tell me you didn't pay £90 for gloves.

ECA

I am a FH squatter
I wear underpants, ski trousers, t-shirt, ski jacket. + Gloves+Hat.
I usually keep a thick jumper in my bag so if it gets cold I can layer up a bit.

This is fine for most of europe. If you're going to somewhere retarded like canada or alaska thats going to hit you with -20 then balaclava, thermals and some layers are probably a much better idea.