Home Server / NAS

Bodhi

Once agreed with Scouse and a LibDem at same time
Chaps, Chapesses, and those who haven't made their minds up yet,

I've decided it's time to get some sort of centralised home storage set up - I've been using my PC for a couple of years now, but it's getting a bit noisy and my Windows 8 Evaluation is about to run out for the 3rd time, so have run out of reloads, so have decided it's time to do things properly.

The OH is going to get me it for Xmas, and I have a budget of around £200 to play with (not including drives). This box of tricks must:

Store and stream Movies Pics and Music. Will probably use Plex for the first two and investigate SubSonic for music (as Plex doesn't handle it very well).
Backups
Downloads
Will probably set up some IP cams next year as I am away with work a lot and the OH is home alone
And other general tinkering.

From my limited investigations so far, it looks like I can either get a Synology/ReadyNAS, or get an HP MicroServer and install something like FreeNAS. I'm not too bothered about everything being as easy as possible to set up, but don;t want to be tinkering every day to make sure the bloody thing works.

I've only got about 300Gb of stuff so will be looking at adding a pair of 2Tb WD Reds - but the ability to add storage later on is a big plus.

I'm leaning towards the MicroServer if I'm honest as they seem to have a bit more grunt and storage bays - but is there anything the Synology boxes can do that I'd miss with ReadyNAS?

So which way would you go down? I am aware some of you have datacentres in the bedroom which would probably be overkill for my requirements, but if I can set up things like ZFS I would be interested,

Poag

m00?
http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/hp-...-34-serversplus-109-99-after-cashback-2332976

Its got a Celeron by default. I use it as my Plex server, 3x3TB WD Reds + 1x120GB SSD. Handles transcoding for 4-5 people at once without issue.