Question: Swimming + Gym?

eggy

Fledgling Freddie
I've joined the gym recently as I've decided to give my body an overhaul! Really enjoying it, find it great fun and will hopefully stick at it. I've never enjoyed exercise before (and have never really had to, food has never seemed to make me overweight) so this is incredible for me!

Anyway.

As I'm a beginner when it comes to these things, I've been given an all-over workout routine to do 3 times a week.

However, I'd like to take advantage of the facilities whenever I'm free. Muscles obviously need time to repair, but my question is this:

Is swimming/cycling/running in the days I'm not doing my gym routine ok? ie doing the routine on a monday, then swimming on tuesday and doing the routine again on the wed.

Or, is this completely detrimental? I'm doing this firstly for general fitness and some all-over weight loss.

Cozak

Part of the furniture
One day in-between will be fine, an active recovery which is pretty much what you described helps to develop muscle growth futher. For rugby we used to do monday CV work and speed training, tuesday weights, wednesday CV and speed again, thursday weights and friday CV and agility work. Its good to have variation so that you dont get bored etc.. change your routine every few weeks :)

mikke

Can't get enough of FH
here is whats best for you (if you want to burn fat and build muscles):

in the gym you go for lots of reps, and few series. something like 12*3/4 times. in that way you prepair your muscles and scenes for heavyer lifts later on. and the best way to burn fat, is to go for a swim\run\cycling trip JUST AFTER you have lifted weights. your running tours should be something like 30-60 mins long, and at a moderate speed/pulse.