Where can I buy a decent desktop to play DAoC on?

Galie

One of Freddy's beloved
This week I returned from vaction in Japan to discover my desktop had up and died on me, it was a good few years old so it wasn't totally unexpected.

I live in the UK and I'd like to know if anyone could recommend to me a decent PC manufacturer. I have very little knowledge about PCs, but I know I'm looking for a system that can handle DAoC well. Being able to run two ToA clients reliably and without lag in RvR would be amazing.

Any advice on possible specifcations and components would be great too. I'm totally lost when it comes to choosing good, gfx cards and processors etc.

Thanks Galie

Khale

Fledgling Freddie
P4 3,0 Ghz (with Hyper Threading)
1 Gb DDR Ram
Radeon 9800 Pro

Should do nicely.

Chrystina

Fledgling Freddie
replacing the Radeon by an GeForce FX5800 or higher would be better for DAoC seeing that most problems in the tech section come from ppl with ATI cards :m00:

stinkingD

Fledgling Freddie
I would recommend you repair the PC that has 'died'. Unless your PC has physically exploded, or has been dropped into a bath, then it's only going to be a single component that's faulty. Somebody you know must have some knowledge of hardware enough to identify the damaged component.

For the price you pay for a brand new off the shelf system, you could get one of the new nvidia cards (apparantly DAoC has been developed to run on nvidia cards, and it is true you don't get the amount of problems that many have experienced using radeon cards on DAoC).

Even if you wanted a new PC, it is still cheaper to upgrade your old one. A complete new PC would only really mean getting a faster CPU (if your CPU is slower than 2ghz), and a new graphics card. You may need a new motherboard if your board cannot take a faster CPU. If you already have 1 gig of Ram, then that's fine, if not, put a bit more in.

For example;
amd 2600 £60 ish
new motherboard £70 ish