What's the point in playing?

E

Edaudric

I've been playing about 5-6 months since March 2001.
Every time I begin playing again, the game seems boring. Incredibly boring.
When I renewed this one 29th March, I didn't start playing for real until easter began (had a Level 1 Elementalist waiting).
Now I have 8 level 10 characters, and I see NO point whatsoever to play the game.

It's all hunting in the wilderness or in a tomb. It's all Quest for "xp".
I just sit here resting my head on my palm while twisting my chants.
I cleanse tombs that is there for no particular reason (who the hell can tell me what Mithra is there for except the town crier?)

The quests are boring and not worth doing at all.

There is no Keep taking. Nobody cares about taking over the other realm anymore. It used to be that way. Midgard practically owned all the lands of Prydwen back in March 2001 (or was it 2002. The first year with DAoC in Europe).
Maybe, just maybe 1 or two keeps is taken because people are a little bored.

Also, the other day, I met an old man outside Camelot gates. I spent about an hour talking to him, and he thought his disease was caused by the dragon in Dartmoor he was hunting 3 seasons ago.
I went to Camelot to ask a bit about the dragon, and I asked about it's color, if it was blue, and people thought I meant the "con" color, and when someone reminded them I might be on a roleplay quest, everybody lost interest.

Why on EARTH do you people keep playing? I assume most of you will say "because of the ppl", but me, I wont pay $10 a month to talk to people. I'd rather use IRC of some sort to do that.

And no "Stop negative thinking!", because I couldn't just find anything positive with DAoC. It's not even an MMORPG anymore. It've fallen in the gutter with the rest of the MMOG's.

E

Edaudric

I started playing the 2nd month of DAoC in Europe. I'm no newcomer.

O

old.Gombur Glodson

Noone is forcing you to play.
If you dont like it, then quit.

Wow, ain't it simple?

E