Martial Arts

Naetha

Fledgling Freddie
Anyone do any martial arts here to a significant level (i.e. for more than a year)?

I used to do shukokai karate when I was 15, but had to quit when I went to Uni, just before my brown belt grading.

Thinking of taking up karate or tae-kwon-do again to get myself in better shape (I'm pretty fit, but about as flexible as a brick) and to vent some fury.

Can anyone recommend any clubs around Leeds for good solid martial arts training (specific rather than generic though - I don't like clubs that teach martial arts in general rather than specifically karate or TKD)?

Also kinda curious to see what martial arts (if any) people here do :)

Lamp

Gold Star Holder!!
I'm a 3rd Dan in jui-jitsu, and I've been doing it for 20 years now.

(In fact I recently got my third - and final ! - black belt on 24 June this year !)

PM me if you wanna take this off-line.

Stanny

Fledgling Freddie
Did TKD for 4 years when I was younger, twice North East Koryo Champ.

So inflexible now tho, can't touch my toes by about 6 inches and can't really bend my back :mad:

Lamp

Gold Star Holder!!
Stanny said:
Did TKD for 4 years when I was younger, twice North East Koryo Champ.

So inflexible now tho, can't touch my toes by about 6 inches and can't really bend my back :mad:

I misread that the first time I read it...I thought you said you can't really bend your cock...

*cough* Ahem *gets his coat*

Naetha

Fledgling Freddie
Am I right in thinking Ju-Jitsu is mainly grappling, locks etc? Its fun to watch on UFC, but I'm more of a hitting and kicking person.

And I'm freakishly strong which always helps :D

Spis

Fledgling Freddie
Practised Ju Jitsu when i was a little kiddo.. only for about 1 year or so, cause i didnt get to learn how to kill fast enough..

Svartmetall

Great Unclean One