Like A Dog :(

Scouse

Job-worshipper and all round follower of cunts.
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
30,090
My PC has decided that it's going to be as unresponsive as possible.

It feels like a HDD has to spin up before every menu load, every click on an application, even opening links. There's a couple of seconds delay - like the HDD has gone to powersave and needs time to spin up before Windows can service my request.

But I'm running the O/S on a (previously amazingly responsive) SSD.

I've got HDD's for file storage only. All apps are on SSD's. It was responsive. Now it isn't - it's been getting worse over time, but for no discernible reason.

No extra shit is being loaded, drivers are up to date, yadda yadda yadda.


Ideas? Other than complete reinstall?


Edit: AAARGH! Just bringing up the right-click menu to copy-paste from one point on the SSD to another takes a while, then I get the spinny windows wait thing whilst Windows thinks of what to do??!!!

And my CPU is barely registering a bump, nothing else going on!
 
Last edited:

Lamp

Gold Star Holder!!
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
22,495
Checked the forums for your HD / SSD to see if anyone else has same problems?

Checked for spyware / viruses etc?

Checked start up services on msconfig? & regular services under services.msc? I've spent 2 hours this morning going through all the services & turned off shit loads of bloat.

Used to use Norton AV? If so, do you have cApp.exe running on start up? If so delete it & the root folder (Program Files / Common / Symantic).
 

Scouse

Job-worshipper and all round follower of cunts.
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
30,090
Think it was GFI Backup and Firefox.

Firefox was being dicky anyway (removed and reinstalled, working fine now). Looking at perfmon GFI Backup had a load of disk usage when it wasn't running. Uninstalled it.

Things are much more responsive now :)


Now I need an alternative backup solution that runs locally. I've got about 6Tb of HDD space (excluding the SSD's) - 2Tb of which is set aside for backups... :)
 

soze

I am a FH squatter
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Messages
12,508
I had this before with 7 zip. The additions to the right click menu shafted Explorer so any task that called Explorer took ages. After a reinstall it was fine.

I use Windows backup to my NAS and File Sync keeps iTunes up to date every hour. All My Documents and Pictures sync to Sky Drive so it is only really a monthly DR backup.
 

wolfeeh

One of Freddy's beloved
Joined
Jun 7, 2012
Messages
383
one question, does your SSD support the TRIM command? if not, can it be firmware updated?
 

MYstIC G

Official Licensed Lump of Coal™ Distributor
Staff member
Moderator
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
11,687
Now I need an alternative backup solution that runs locally.
I've long been a fan of CrashPlan fella. Piece of piss to use and no cost if you're backing up locally.
 

Raven

I am a FH squatter
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 27, 2003
Messages
40,660
I switched to Chrome because firefox was being such a dick, random crashes, computer lock ups.
 

Bodhi

Once agreed with Scouse and a LibDem at same time
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
8,527
Chrome makes the baby Jesus cry.
 

Raven

I am a FH squatter
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 27, 2003
Messages
40,660
It's only temporary until Firefox release a build that isn't a) slow as fuck and b) doesn't flid out all the time. I have previously used firefox for years but the latest one is just plain shit.
 

Bodhi

Once agreed with Scouse and a LibDem at same time
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
8,527
Raven said:
It's only temporary until Firefox release a build that isn't a) slow as fuck and b) doesn't flid out all the time. I have previously used firefox for years but the latest one is just plain shit.
See that is what I don't understand about Firefox, it seems very random in how it performs. I'm using the new version and it's fine on my laptop, quick to start and load pages, and solid as a rock. Maybe it's an add on issue?
 

Scouse

Job-worshipper and all round follower of cunts.
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
30,090
I find that every time firefox fucks up that flash is at the centre of the problems...
 

MYstIC G

Official Licensed Lump of Coal™ Distributor
Staff member
Moderator
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
11,687
See that is what I don't understand about Firefox, it seems very random in how it performs. I'm using the new version and it's fine on my laptop, quick to start and load pages, and solid as a rock. Maybe it's an add on issue?
I found the built in "Rebuild my profile" feature removed all the bullshit niggle problems with Firefox. Chrome has the advantage that as it's fresh it doesn't suffer from feature creep as badly. Firefox still had settings and shit in my profile that went back to version 1.0 which when removed gave me a browser that's just as fast as Chrome on my box and far more flexible (I like my striped theme).
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom