Fibre to the Premises (FTTP)

MYstIC G

Official Licensed Lump of Coal™ Distributor
Staff member
Moderator
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
11,648
Cabling.

I mean, once you've got 900 meg to your PC, do you want/need 900meg to other devices? Noticeable difference for all that effort and investment?

I've got a google mesh wifi setup, it's not amazing but then neither's my 60meg internet (over 4G out here in deepest darkest) - but my PC is fine. The rest of my devices -work laptops / phones / my personal laptop - all of them run fine on WiFi. So I wasn't going to bother with wiring the place up.
Ah, that's an easy one. I'm not putting in significant investment :)

I've run a single 20m CAT6 cable around the property by putting holes through the walls between rooms, I've not put sockets into every room. What I was going to do was put RJ45 connectors on either side of the walls so that cables could be replaced if damaged more easily or go off in different directions if needed but when I couldn't get the bits I wanted that went right out of the window. So what I've got right now is one very long cable from the router to my PC.

So, previously it went:
Router -> Into Powerline -> Out from Powerline Wi-Fi
Router -> Into Powerline -> Out from Powerline -> Lounge TV Switch
Router -> Into Powerline -> Out from Powerline -> Main PC Switch


What I've done is change it to:
Router -> Into Powerline -> Out from Powerline Wi-Fi
Router -> Into Powerline -> Out from Powerline -> Lounge TV Switch
Router -> 20m CAT6 through the brickwork -> Main PC Switch


That new cable is slightly too short but it passes by the Lounge TV switch, so I'm going to change it to.
Router -> Into Powerline -> Out from Powerline Wi-Fi
Router -> CAT6 -> Lounge TV Switch -> 20m CAT6 through the brickwork -> Main PC Switch


But given the Wi-Fi is shit what I want to do next is eliminate the Powerline completely, maybe by hanging AP(s) off the switches. Mostly because the wife and I are both remote working at present with a lot of teams based stuff. She's got the lounge where the router has always been so the Wi-Fi is workable there but it's been a pain in my backside most of the year on the work laptop. It's so rubbish that at the start of lockdown I tended to tether to the work mobile as it was more reliable and that was fine on the odd day but that got old when it was clear this was in for the long haul. Also a lot of my work stuff is also reliant on VDI which tends to use any old excuse to drop the connection if it's shaky, which it is almost guaranteed to be with the Powerline adapters.

I think this is mostly because the Powerline adapters aren't great at handing off between one another. Like if you connect to one point and move across the building next to another, you'd expect it to jump but more often than not everything claws onto the first access point for dear life.
 

SilverHood

FH is my second home
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
2,059
Paying for the full thing? If not - could be encoding if you've got HDR stuff going on - they leave it as non-accelerated HDR encode unless you've ponied up for the full thing :)

I think Netflix 4k is about 15mbps, so lets say double that - 30mbps. Plenty for 4k at 30mbps through your WiFI, no?
Hah, that probably explains it. it was the free version. Once I started running cable from PC to router, so there was no wifi involved, all the buffering messages went away.
 

smurkin

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
522
I think Netflix 4k is about 15mbps, so lets say double that - 30mbps. Plenty for 4k at 30mbps through your WiFI, no?
Hah, that probably explains it. it was the free version. Once I started running cable from PC to router, so there was no wifi involved, all the buffering messages went away.
It probably depends on the compression. Netflix is lossy. An uncompressed blue ray (eg. from make mkv) is probably on average 40-60 kbps depending on the bitrate. I imagine a 4k movie runs into the hundreds of kbps. The raw transport stream for a 4K movie runs into Gbps.
 

Scouse

Job-worshipper and all round follower of cunts.
FH Subscriber
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
29,735
Yeah, but how many uncompressed blue rays are available to download even if you wanted to pirate your disk space to death ;)
 

Embattle

I am a FH squatter
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
10,519
My mkv rip of Apocalypse Now (4K) weighs in at 57.9 Mb/s for video stream alone, overall bit rate is up to 64.6 Mb/s.
 

smurkin

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
522
Yeah, but how many uncompressed blue rays are available to download even if you wanted to pirate your disk space to death ;)
Home made. I keep them on my NAS. They are usually 28-35 Gb per title. I have perhaps 12 Tb of mkv movies. All the sound tracks and titles. No 4k movies mind.
 
Last edited:

smurkin

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
522
ok, I see. 4K BD video is compressed with HEVC. 64 Mb/s seems roughly consistent with other sources suggesting about 80 Mb/s for 4K. Including some overhead for buffering.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom