DAoC XML

S

syri

hands up who thought it was a whine about xml not being updated ;)

I'm wondering if anyone can tell me of a good place to find out how to show the xml data for a guild. Basically, i'd like to do a members section for the kotl website, based on the xml data from the servers, but i haven't a clue where to start.
Any hints/guides/tutorials would be greatly appreciated, thanks :)

B

Breni

You can download a PHP script here. That's what I've used on our guild site, as a sort of temporary measure until I can figure out how to display more of what I want :)

All you need is your Guild number and server from Goa's servers.xml file.

K

Kaomond

Where and what did you put into the php script to get it to work even that much? i'm a total noob at this hehe

B

Breni

Ah yes, that's a good one :)

Go to line 145 and replace it with this (should be the line beginning with

function parse() { :

function parse() {

$this->xml_parser = xml_parser_create();
@xml_set_object($this->xml_parser, $this);
// use case-folding so we are sure to find the tag in $map_array
xml_parser_set_option($this->xml_parser, XML_OPTION_CASE_FOLDING, true);

xml_set_element_handler($this->xml_parser, "startElement", "endElement");
xml_set_character_data_handler($this->xml_parser, "characterData");
//xml_set_processing_instruction_handler($this->xml_parser, "PIHandler");

if (!($fp = fopen($this->xml_file, "r"))) {
die("could not open XML input");
}
while ($data = fread($fp, 4096)) {
if (!xml_parse($this->xml_parser, $data, feof($fp))) {
die(sprintf("XML error: %s at line %d",
xml_error_string(xml_get_error_code($this->xml_parser)),
xml_get_current_line_number($this->xml_parser)));
}
}
}

S

syri

got it working now.
Kaomond: i downloaded it from the site Breni linked to, and just changed the xml file that it gets it's data from

now i just need to make it fit in with the rest of the site :)