Question Why can't I get sound out of my Xbox 360/TV/HiFi?

Turamber

Part of the furniture
Whilst I was out at work today my family decided to treat me. I came home to find my Panasonic TX-P42G10B wall-mounted at long last. Very nice indeed.

The electrician had very neatly connected the tv to the hi fi, to the video, to my Xbox 360 and PS3. All is hunky dory except for the minor matter of sound from the Xbox 360.

My 360 is one of the original ones so doesn't have an HDMI port, just the AV port with the cable where you can choose HD output. So its connected to the television using the composite cables, and the tv has sound output leads connected from it to the hi fi inputs.

When I bought the tv the chaps who delivered it connected to all the gear so this is my first time trying to solve the problem. Can anyone shed any light please?

Thanks.

nath

Fledgling Freddie
Take it step by step - trace where the sound is coming and going. First of all, you need the sound out of you 360 - this can come in the form of an optical output (a separate cable coming from the AV out from the 360) or red and white stereo cable.

Which one do you have and where is it running to?

Turamber

Part of the furniture
The only cable coming out my Xbox 360 is the composite AV cable. I can see there is a slot for an optical output but I don't recall ever having bought it.

Ch3tan

I aer teh win!!
You don't need to route the sound via your TV. Connect the red and white stereo jacks directly into your stereo, or use the optical out to get 5.1 surround (2nd option gets my vote).

Also you may just have selected the correct output on the hi-fi, or the TV is not set-up to output from the input currently being used.

nath

Fledgling Freddie