to 64, or not to 64, that's the question!

TdC

Trem's hunky sex love muffin
now that my new poota is 80% done, bought and paid for, I'm mulling over doing something I've never done before. Purchasing a Windows. In a shop. Ugh :/

As I *only* use the fast poota for games it requires the giant virus that is doze, because some of the games I play do not come in unixesque flavours. sadly enough. anyway now comes the question. I'm going to buy WinXPpro.....but which one: the 32bit or 64bit version? Both will run on my future processor.

Drivers, I'm thinking, for the 64 will still be of the lame/buggy/broken variant, and it's the drivers I'll be wanting not apps. Hmm. Anyway, is anyone running the 64bit WinXP? Any advice?

Embattle

FH is my second home
I'd personally go for the 32bit version, Vista is due out next year any way.

TdC

hrmm, so possibly I'll be buying something that will last me less than a year, isn't upgradable (for free or otherwise), isn't 64bit and is virus/bug/crap riddled? I'd expect no less heh :)

tbh I'm thinking that Vista will be a pile of steaming poo when it is released, so perhaps XP will tide me over for another year after that? All I want is stable drivers from Nvidia, nothing more.

fatbusinessman

Fledgling Freddie
TdC said:
tbh I'm thinking that Vista will be a pile of steaming poo when it is released, so perhaps XP will tide me over for another year after that? All I want is stable drivers from Nvidia, nothing more.

A general rule of thumb with any OS release which is “new” is to give it six months for any particularly nasty bugs and/or vulnerabilities to be ironed out. If I were feeling cynical I'd say double this for Windows.

Poag

m00?
Tdc,

I've got a 64bit 4000+ and run Normal XPPro SP2 on it, runs perfectly wella nd gives me 100 fps in BF2.

Not much more info than that really, it runs well..i play games..it works....joy!

Mazling

Can't get enough of FH