some advice please...

Ctuchik

FH is my second home
so my poor 6800GT is finally starting to be to old, (ok really really really REALLY old then). but having a low budget when it comes to new stuff for my PC kinda limits what i can and can't do when it comes to getting a new one.

so heres my question. would overclocking it make it be a somewhat viable option for atleast a few more months (starving me here to save up for a new one).

the card is starting to get to a point where on the new games, even the most crappy of crap grafic settings ingame seem to be to much for it.

and if overclocking WOULD spark some new life into it, how exactly would i go about to do this :)

have to remember that i have absolutly no knowledge what so ever about this stuff. i can build my own PC's np. but anything above that is way out of my legue.

been trying to search the net for guides and stuff but i'm not that good at "googeling" :(

so if anyone have a "how to" for dummies (with a capitol D) or could explain it i'd be very greatful :)

Kryten

Old Cow.
The 6800GT is still a very capable card, assuming you have the 256mb version. I was running one myself on a 32bit AMD Barton 3200 until recently and it still ran even the newest game at full detail perfectly playable.
I did have it overclocked, but not by much.

Easiest way to do it, grab the latest drivers from Nvidia's site, and at the same time download "Ntune" - nVidia's own overclocking and tweaking utility. This adds a few more pages to the normal graphics card control panel, the 2 useful ones you'll be wanting are the "Overclocking" page and the "NVMonitor" utility. The latter will help you keep an eye on temperatures - the 6800GT's do get very warm, and if it's going over 70 degrees already, I'd avoid stressing it more.

The overclocking page is quite simple - 2 radio buttons and 2 sliders.