Question for Asus A7N8X Deluxe owners

xane

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,695
Just to ask if anyone is using Windows XP on an Asus A7N8X Deluxe motherboard and they can put it into Suspend To Ram (STR) S3 state and resume okay.

S3 state will power down everything; drives, fans, usb, etc.
 

RandomBastard

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
1,318
I own the above, use xp and no, i cant even select the suspend mode. Most annoying i tell thee.
 

TdC

Trem's hunky sex love muffin
Joined
Dec 20, 2003
Messages
30,693
I've never even tried. I don't trust this new-fangled thingymabob tech stuff :/
 

xane

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,695
RandomBastard said:
I own the above, use xp and no, i cant even select the suspend mode. Most annoying i tell thee.
(a) make sure suspend to ram is enabled in the BIOS.
(b) make sure no USB devices can be used to resume (this can be found under Device Properties -> Power Management).
 

RandomBastard

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
1,318
xane said:
(a) make sure suspend to ram is enabled in the BIOS.
(b) make sure no USB devices can be used to resume (this can be found under Device Properties -> Power Management).
Makes no difference to suspend mode that. s1 mode works fine though.
 

wyrd_fish

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 27, 2003
Messages
537
i have an A7N8X deluxe...

found no problems as yet, but then i've never heard of this "S3" lark...

*runs off to try*
 

Tom

I am a FH squatter
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
16,357
I just tried suspend to ram, and it worked fine Xane. There were still fans buzzing in the case, but those could have been the 2 case fans that I have.
 

RandomBastard

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
1,318
Tom, thats S1 mode.

There are two modes of STR, S1 and S3.

S1 leaves all the fans on.
S3 turns all the fans off (including psu fan).

I assume this is because S3 mode runs off the green 5V standby wire whereas S 1 winds down the power to the cpu etc but leaves full power too fans and i assume since xane says to turn off usb startup to the usb sockets.
 

xane

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,695
Well, I think I have the solution, the Hauppauge WinTV card, when removed, means I can go into and out of S3 nicely.
 

Tom

I am a FH squatter
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
16,357
How do you get this S3 mode on then?
 

xane

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,695
Reinstalled the Hauppauge WinTV card and downloaded the latest drivers, works now, hurrah !

And my shiney new IBM Rapid Access Keyboard came today, nice bit of kit, very small footprint.
 

xane

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,695
What do you mean by "fuck all" ? Does your PC go into Standby at all ? If so is it only S1 state (fans spinning) ?
 

Tom

I am a FH squatter
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
16,357
xane said:
What do you mean by "fuck all" ? Does your PC go into Standby at all ? If so is it only S1 state (fans spinning) ?
That setting seems to make no difference; it goes into standby, basically the monitor turns off and the HDs power down, thats it.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom