Oven Issue.

Gwadien

Uneducated Northern Cretin
Right, so I just cleaned our electric oven, which was turned off at the wall, then when I turned it back on, the circuit breakers flipped, so I checked it again, and it was the oven that's doing it.

I'm a complete noob at stuff like this, so before consulting manuals and shit I thought I'd ask the freddies.

Anyone got any idea what's going on here? - the wall switch only turns the hob off/on, so I'd imagine it's the hob at fault, not the actual oven?

Edmond

Is now wearing thermals.....Brrrrr
Right, so I just cleaned our electric oven, which was turned off at the wall, then when I turned it back on, the circuit breakers flipped, so I checked it again, and it was the oven that's doing it.

I'm a complete noob at stuff like this, so before consulting manuals and shit I thought I'd ask the freddies.

Anyone got any idea what's going on here? - the wall switch only turns the hob off/on, so I'd imagine it's the hob at fault, not the actual oven?

The oven is on a separate circuit (should be) as it 30amp. the wall switch is probably a fused spur that isolates the hob.

What did you clean it with, you probably got one of the dials wet and its shorting out

Tom

I am a FH squatter
I have only one thing to say. If you mess with it, it may kill you.

So think carefully.

Trem

Not as old as he claims to be!
It will still have damp somewhere like Ed said. Leave it overnight then try again in the morning, leave the oven door open so it can air.

If that doesn't work ignore Tom and stick some metal things in the consumer unit but only while taking a shower otherwise it won't work right.

Edited to say it may well be around the oven light that is damp and causing the short if you got that wet......

Fweddy

FH is my second home
Put a can of deodorant in the oven and turn it up as high as it will go. Leave it overnight and in the morning it will be all dried out and nice smelling.

Olgaline

FH is my second home