My first overclocking venture

wyrd_fish

Fledgling Freddie
(this was a topic in BW/GAME, but the forum suddenly went dead...)

My first few attempts managed to fail
and a later attempt managed to underclock by about 500mhz
but i soon worked out how to overclock my Duron 1.6 to 1.75 at about 38'C

i was dead chuffed at this point

i later thought it would be a good idea to try and unlock the multiplyer settings, but alas after removing my HSF discovered that it already was, hunted for some HTC found some and put it back together

then returned to the default settings, as i'm a wimp... :( and my comp was rather warm when i came to remove the HSF to draw on my L1 bridges

the end

any pointers would be nice as I'm new to all this

Comp:
Asus A7N8X Deluxe (Revision 2)
AMD Duron 1600 (at 1600mhz)*
1x 256mb PC3200 DDRRAM**
PCI S3 (hold on to your hat...)***

*To be replaced when i can afford it
**to have another added for dual channel mode and maybe upgraded to 1GB
***to be upgraded to an ATI Radeon > 9600, if i can afford it

Lam

Fledgling Freddie
A very important thing if you really want to overclock is to have good memory modules.
Since you have a mainboard that supports dual-channel ddr I suggest you get some matched pair modules like the ones from Corsair.

These modules are sold as a pair and are guaranteed to offer the same performance and settings so they will give you the most out of a dual-channel setup.
Also these modules allow you to overclock your fsb more without your computer crashing.
The reason for this is that when you overclock your fsb you also overclock your memory and agp slots so if your memory isn't of high quality your computer will crash much faster.

wyrd_fish

Fledgling Freddie
the memorys fast enough...

but i'm unshure about cooling, theres no much space between PSU and HSF...
and the intake on the PSU is almost exactally above the intake on the HSF

i think a better laid out case is in order

Lam

Fledgling Freddie