Help Laptop casings(?)

russell

FH is my second home
Hi Freddies.
Please help...
Our daughter dropped our laptop down the stairs and the screen is all smashed, as is the dvd drive thingy.
....But it works if connected to a monitor all fine and dandy..but its a pain using it this way.
Mr Russell has found a casing on ebay and reckons we could buy it and then put out laptop insides in it- I have no idea??!!!
So- is this possible? Does it cost alot of money? Is he wasting his time getting the casing if he has to bid over £100 for it?
Sorry if I am not technical enough for you -any advice would be appreciated:)

Zenith.UK

Part of the furniture
My wife had her laptop knocked off the table, damaging the screen, DVD, casing and power socket. Using a service manual that I found online, I was able to:

• disassemble the laptop to get the motherboard out,
  • took the motherboard to a mobile phone shop to get a new power socket soldered (£40).
  • rebuilt the laptop without the screen
  • restored the laptop to factory default

After attaching an external monitor, it is now used as our download mill, file storage and media server. It beats almost any small form desktop hands down. :)

In your case, you're wanting to get a non-working laptop from eBay and swap in the working parts from your current laptop. What make/model of laptop is it? Maybe I can dig out a service manual PDF for it. £100 is the absolute maximum I would stretch to though. For £150 you can buy a new netbook and cheap laptops start at about £250.

Embattle

FH is my second home
I suspect generally wasting your time bothering, some laptops aren't that hard to take apart whereas others are nearly impossible and the other reality is you may of well done more damage than you first think thus I would advise you to backup any important data you have to a USB key.

Kryten

Old Cow.