Help, newbie at Linux

F

_fus_

Right, i have just installed Mandrake Linux 8.2, and have only a small knowledge of how to use it. Every bit of hardware is now installed except one thing, my Usb ' alcatel speedtouch modem'. I have tried to connect to the internet, but it wont let me. As i am new to this, i don't really know where to start or how to get it to work.

I have got the newest drivers, linux version, but don't really know what to do with them.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers :)

T

Testin da Cable

depends what the drivers are really. iirc they will either be a precompiled binary or a bit of source code that you'll have to compile yourself. the finished thing will prolly be a kernel module that you'll have to load [insmod] and perhaps have some extra configuration to do for it.

all of that being guesswork really. does the driver have any documentation with it? online docs? try google when in doubt.
does it give you any error messages? if so..post em heh. good luck!

W

Wilier

oooooh Linux sounds so much fun. Real user friendly stuff. :rolleyes:

T

Testin da Cable

it requires you to indeed be above 'average windoze luser' level Wilier ;)

M

MYstIC G

Not really, it just requires more detailed configuration

/me harps on about win3.1 & dos ;)

T

Testin da Cable

dos? the os/2 warp dos emu was better than the real thing ;)

ps. I love you G :)

W

Wilier

Originally posted by Testin da Cable
it requires you to indeed be above 'average windoze luser' level Wilier ;)

no point me bothering then. :(

BTW, wheres the wink smiley gone??

edit. Oh there it is. :(

E

Embattle

I'm above the average Windows user but the fact remains I have no intention of wasting time on setting up the basic fucntions :p

T

Testin da Cable

I don't suppose you'll go for the argument that usb is a very un-basic function will you?

O

old.Scarenius