Advice Anyone ever interviewed for a national newspaper?

eksdee

FH is my second home
So after around 3 months of looking for a new job, I finally landed an interview. The job is for a Junior Designer position at the Telegraph. I currently work for a local newspaper, so I have that on my side, but I don't have a huge amount of experience and I'm not coming from a strictly design background as I have an Illustration degree. However, I know I have the skillset to do the job and am confident in that sense.

I've never interviewed for such a high profile company though and am really quite nervous in that respect. This would be an amazing opportunity for me and a chance to take a big step in my career.

So my question to you, FreddysHouse, is do you have any golden tips for me? Help me land my dream job. :D

Huntingtons

Resident Freddy
dont show up completly naked.

grats tho, sounds cool - wish i could help but ive never landed any big interviews.

Ceixah

Can't get enough of FH
The usual interview advice really, go in, be polite, honest and calm.

A good tip is taking a second or two to process the question before answering and try and make eye contact rather than looking down at the floor etc!

But I'm sure you already know these things! Absolute best of luck to you though mate! let us know how it goes!

Ormorof

FH is my second home
message Cerb, afaik he works at a big news organisation in the US he might be able to help you out

eksdee

FH is my second home
Thanks for the encouragement guys! Super excited and nervous at the same time. Can't wait for Thursday. I go on holiday the next day aswell, why does everything always happen all at the same time?!

caLLous

I am a FH squatter
FH Subscriber
Aw I thought they were interviewing you because you were famous or something. :(

Good luck though!

DaGaffer

Down With That Sorta Thing
I used to work for the BBC, does that count?