What the fuu has happened to the postal service?

tris-

Failed Geordie and Parmothief
Back in the day, I could wrap my car up in parcel paper, pop a 1st class stamp on and it would be recieved the next day.

Today I sent an A5 envelope containing 3 pieces of A4 paper.

SIXTY ONE FUCKING PENCE TO POST FIRST CLASS?

WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON?

Zenith.UK

Part of the furniture
It's how the Royal Mail get themselves profitable... by driving customers away so they don't have to deliver as many letters/parcels.
What about those of us outside metropolitan areas that don't have any real choice in our parcel provider?

Oh yeah, it's difficult to email items from eBay... if someone had worked out how to do it, we'd have transporter technology a la Star Trek. :D

tris-

Maybe it is just me but an A5 envelope is rather small and 3 pieces of paper weighs about 3grams.

To me, that does not correlate to 61p worth of postage!

Jeros

Part of the furniture
I used to work as a postie

Pay up or no mailie for yousie :D

tris-

I used to work as a postie

Pay up or no mailie for yousie :D

Ezteq sent me something before which was about £375 underpaid according to a yellow sticker on it, but the postie still popped it in.

I can only assume he must of paid it for me!

Aoami

I am a FH squatter
best thing they ever did was a cover of against all odds by phil collins

ilaya

Can't get enough of FH
61p aint right.. not for a5 containing 3 bits of paper (defo under 60 grams)

should be standard first class rate which i believe is 36p atm.

the pricing in proprtion rate only comes in at a4 size i think, which im guessing u knew since u send a5...

something wrong there...

tris-

I thought something was wrong as well.

I had to send it second class in the end as I couldnt afford the 61p :/

tris-

Nope.
I said to the bint on the counter '1st class'.
She inserted thje letter in to one of those templates they have the result was '61p'.

pikeh

Resident Freddy