Thinking about getting Daoc....

A

Alpine_99

Hey

Im thinking about buying Daoc. I have been looking for a game that suites me and I think this one may be it. I have previosly played WoW and Guild wars and im am 15.

Im wondering...

1. Is there good open PvP?
I hated the instanced pvp in wow and although guildwars pvp was in depth and great I just could not get into since it was all instanced.

2.Will this game take up all of my time?
I am a highschool student and play on 2 sports teams, I got addicted to Wow a couple years back and don't want that to happen again.

3. Is it possible to jump right into Pvp Combat
In wow it took me months to get my character level 60 and ready for pvp, by the I was ready for some pking the pvp system had already been destroyed

4. How does Realm vs Realm work?

Pirkel

Fledgling Freddie
Welcome potential realmpointcow.. I mean new player! ;)

1. Honestly DAoC has the best pvp (we call it RvR which stands for Realm vs Realm) in the market atm. Sadly it's just about the only thing keeping DAoC alive.
2. Yes it will. To get your character ready for RvR you're looking at weeks of pve... months if you're going to do it solo without a decent guild.
3. Yes and no ... you can get into the Battlegrounds at 20... but frankly if you want the real deal you're looking at a grind ... not nearly as long as in WoW but still pretty bad.
4. Waaaay to complicated to explain so I'll be lazy and point you to some guides: RvR Manual, New Frontiers Guide.

Hope it helps.

Andrilyn

Can't get enough of FH
1. Yes there's only open "pvp" no instance pvp.
2. Yes, if you want to compete it takes up quite some time.
3. You need(ofc everyone has different opinions about this) Level 50, ML10, CL5 and a full template and some would even say you need rr5+ to compete, took me 3 weeks but if you are new to the game it can take up a couple of months...