Survival of the fittest?

Dukat

Resident Freddy
Just something I've been pondering whilst bored at work:

Is Darwinism - "The survival of the fittest", redundant ?

Nowadays with new technology, people live longer and survive diseases that would normally have been fatal.

Is there any longer a need for it though? Nowadays physical strength might not be such an important factor, but weak genes themselves that normally would have died out will now be passed on into the gene pool and may end up weakening the entire race as a whole. 500, 600 years down the road will we end up having a biological disaster due to our weakened genes?

I'm not really an expert in this sort of thing, but I thought it was interesting to think about how natural evolution and technology (specifically medical technology) seem to be almost in direct competition.

Mabs

J Peasemould Gruntfuttock
ethics arguments are fine, however, bottom line is

more and more people...

finite living space and resources...

something has to give :(

Huntingtons

Resident Freddy
that is exactly what will happen, you see it already. handicapped people usually have no chance of surviving are living good lives.
on the other hand you have the gene technology that makes it possible to select which physical treats and probably also the genotypes (the interior of the human, stuff that cannot be seen) treats that will be their offspring. therefore natural disasters will hit us harder than normal because we have become so addiceted to technology.

/edit

but we also choose our partners on the basis of their physical treats which could eliminate some genes still.

old.Tohtori

FH is my second home
Survival of the fittest isn't species limited though, so survival of the fittest evolved humans to this(bloody lucky that one), and now as you might notice, we very effectively kill eachother.

Iraq<-->US, survival of the fittest.

Dukat

Resident Freddy