Such a thing as ...

Minimac

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 28, 2004
Messages
791
Such a thing as a Patch to download or something to change a german interface if you decide to move from english server to german server ... say Avalon.
Make it much more easier :D
 

Tiques

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 27, 2005
Messages
121
Thats quite easy!

Step 1:
Open the Dir above your "DAoC" folder, for many this will be your "games" folder

Step 2:
Copy The DAoC folder and rename it "DAoC - German"

Step 3:
Open your "DAoC-German" folder and open the file called "Update.dat" with notepad

Step 4:
Change the information from the usual:

Mythic Patch
patch.camelot-europe.com:1280/updates/english/catacombs/mpatch.dat
patch.camelot-europe.com:1280/updates/english/catacombs/mpatch.dat

Into

Mythic Patch
patch.camelot-europe.com:1280/updates/german/catacombs/mpatch.dat
patch.camelot-europe.com:1280/updates/german/catacombs/mpatch.dat

Step 5:
Close and save the Update.dat

Step 6:
Run your DAoC.exe file and it patches to german client
 

Minimac

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 28, 2004
Messages
791
Dont think thats what i want...
I dont understand german i Want a patch that turns all german into english ...
So spell resists say resists instead of a a paragraph off german and stats ect is english :D possible?
 

Megarevs

Loyal Freddie
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Messages
875
if u wanna play on the german server u shoudld start learn german...
 

sedde

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
1,058
Minimac said:
Dont think thats what i want...
I dont understand german i Want a patch that turns all german into english ...
So spell resists say resists instead of a a paragraph off german and stats ect is english :D possible?


Its not possible, you gonna get used to it , as we did tbh !
 

Ethild

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
499
All text is sent as plain text directly to the client. There is no client side language system, so there isn't anything you can "patch.".
 

Tractartus

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
126
<Prepares to be corrected ;)>

I think the answer is 'no'- each language version as I understand it is separate, which is partly why we have to wait for the patches as GoA need to translate the code Mythic gives them into French, German, etc. And its not a 'direct' or obvious translation, GoA have to decide which possible word they will translate to; for example 'thief' could be tranlated to a number of possible French words and GoA need to make sure that the same word is used throughout the game, if not it may bugger up some quests (eg. the ones you need to /whi [something] to continue with).

I think...
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom