Starting DAoC

Bozia

Fledgling Freddie
Would it still be worth it to start playing DAoC as a total noob? I've been looking for a good MMO and had my eye on DAoC for a while. I tried the trial yesterday for a short time and I really liked it. But I was wondering some things.
Will I be able to compete in RvR when I reach a high enough level or will the gear gap be so huge I won't make a dent in most people?
Will I be able to find groups at lower levels or will I pretty much have to solo all the way to the levelcap?
Should I go US or EU servers when I decide to start playing?

Cadelin

Resident Freddy
If you only speak English go US servers. If you also speak german/french ok you can pick those servers.

There aren't a huge number of leveling groups nowadays. However if you pick a solid class for leveling solo it is really fast and on the US there are dragon quests that give awesome exp at the later levels.

DaoC is designed so that everyone can get the best loot. It really isn't difficult to get a decent set of loot (called template) that will allow you to compete in RvR fine.

Bozia

Fledgling Freddie
Hmm, guess it'll be US servers then seeing as I don't speak german nor french.
Is the time difference a problem for EU players on US servers? Or are there more than enough people playing at EU daytimes too?
How should I pick a server? Just pick one with the highest number of people online or are there some servers with loads of EU people playing?

Oh, and if I did a paybycash payment, I won't need CC details right? (i just entered in some random stuff)

Sorry for all the questions :p

Dreamor

Can't get enough of FH
I've not long stopped playing DAOC on US servers, theres so many EU people on there, most the time there is a lot of people, the RVR can run into the early hours (when its busiest) but then again, its still a lot better than here.
I was in a guild with a bunch of yanks based in an Army Barracks in Germany, was quality.