Red Hat Help

F

Furr

Hi all, I have just downloaded and installed Redhat Linux 8

My problem is that i cant or dont know how to access the hardisk that has windows and all my files on it, i tried the tutorial on the redhat site but to no avail, do i have a problem because the hda1 drive that has windows on it is NTFS??

Help meeee

//edit

Also WTF cant i get my mousewhell to wok. its just a plain serial wheel mouse bah!

W

Will

Yeah, the vanilla linux kernel can't read NTFS. You need to compile a custom kernel with NTFS support. Read support, as far as I know, it tempremental. Write support is really not recommended if you want to use the data again.;)

At least, thats what I think it is. I'm no expert though.

P

PR.

Boot back into Windows, go to disk management and delete the offending [linux] partition, then give the disk space back to windows

:p

T

Testin da Cable

hmm afaik it actually should have asked you if you wanted access to the doze partitions [but it may be so that it doesn't if they are formatted to NTFS]. you will, as Itcheh says, either have to make a new kernel -or- load some modules that enable the reading of NTFS filesystems. I have no idea which ones [just off the top of my head] but I'll have a wee look and see if I can help [very busy atm though, so it'll be this evening before I can get back to you]

T

Testin da Cable

by the way...getting your mouse buttons . wheel to work should be automagic too,
read about how to enable manually [ie edit a file called XF86Config or something] here: http://www.xfree86.org/4.2.1/mouse5.html#21

mine looks like this:
Code:
Identifier  "Mouse1"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device"      "/dev/mouse"
    Option "Buttons"    "5"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"

note "ZAxisMapping"...that's the wheel

F

Furr