Patching from EU to US version?

Apathy

Loyal Freddie
Joined
Dec 27, 2003
Messages
309
Can't do a search for this on the forums due to the minimum length of search terms being 4. Pffft.

So, is it possible to patch an SI-enabled EU installation of DAOC to work on the US servers? ~ponder~

If it is, then how? Tell me in sexeh intricate detail.

a.
*
 

Fenderon

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
1,673
You can allways patch to the US-version I would think .. as we did so many times before they fixed the patcher... however you would need a brand new account and US-cdkeys to play on the US servers..
 

Thegreatest

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
1,023
As far as I know you need a proper US version of the game to play on Mythic's servers...
 

Archeon

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
2,047
Yes, you can - all you need to do is change your update.dat (is that the right one?) to the yankie server IP addresses and it should download it for you.
 

Korax

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
335
Archeon said:
Yes, you can - all you need to do is change your update.dat (is that the right one?) to the yankie server IP addresses and it should download it for you.
+ the you need a US account part
 

Apathy

Loyal Freddie
Joined
Dec 27, 2003
Messages
309
Yes, I have US accounts but not the CDs yet.

Ooh that sounds dodgy.

a.
*
 

GReaper

Resident Freddy
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,973
update.dat for US clients

Just paste these into update.dat :)

Classic

Code:
Mythic Patch
patch.daoc.net:1280/updates/camelot/mpatch.dat
patch1.daoc.net:1280/updates/camelot/mpatch.dat
patch2.daoc.net:1280/updates/camelot/mpatch.dat
patch3.daoc.net:1280/updates/camelot/mpatch.dat
patch4.daoc.net:1280/updates/camelot/mpatch.dat
patch6.daoc.net:1280/updates/camelot/mpatch.dat
patch7.daoc.net:1280/updates/camelot/mpatch.dat
patch8.daoc.net:1280/updates/camelot/mpatch.dat
patch9.daoc.net:1280/updates/camelot/mpatch.dat
Shrouded Isles

Code:
Mythic Patch
patch.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles/mpatch.dat
patch1.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles/mpatch.dat
patch2.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles/mpatch.dat
patch3.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles/mpatch.dat
patch4.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles/mpatch.dat
patch6.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles/mpatch.dat
patch7.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles/mpatch.dat
patch8.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles/mpatch.dat
patch9.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles/mpatch.dat
Trials of Atlantis

Code:
Mythic Patch
patch.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis/mpatch.dat
patch1.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis/mpatch.dat
patch2.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis/mpatch.dat
patch3.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis/mpatch.dat
patch4.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis/mpatch.dat
patch6.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis/mpatch.dat
patch7.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis/mpatch.dat
patch8.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis/mpatch.dat
patch9.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis/mpatch.dat
 

GReaper

Resident Freddy
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,973
Pendragon update info

If you want to try Pendragon, replace update.dat with the following information!

Classic

Code:
Mythic Patch
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/camtest/mpatch.dat
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/camtest/mpatch.dat
Shrouded Isles

Code:
Mythic Patch
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles_test/mpatch.dat
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles_test/mpatch.dat
Trials of Atlantis

Code:
Mythic Patch
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis_test/mpatch.dat
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis_test/mpatch.dat
It will download camtest.exe and tupdate.dat for the test client and the test update file. Once you've done this just change back to your original update.dat to access the normal client with camelot.exe.

Hope these posts help. :p
 

Apathy

Loyal Freddie
Joined
Dec 27, 2003
Messages
309
Thanks for the info. Free oral for all on Merlin.

a.
*
 

Sissyfoo

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
2,814
Would this work vice-versa? i.e. if someone bought a copy of TOA in america and then change the server update stuff so it can be used over here in the UK?
 

Archeon

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
2,047
I'd imagine it would if you had the IP's and stuff.

Realistically speaking you'd only need the ToA CD to activate your account for the ToA areas. You can download the entire DAoC client through the patcher (atleast thats what i did when my SI CD wouldn't install properly ;))
 

Litmus

FH is my second home
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
1,576
just use the update info given in a previous post. it doesnt matter about CD-KEYs as it doesntr even check them now, all you need is a usa account and your done.
 

GReaper

Resident Freddy
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,973
Archeon said:
I'd imagine it would if you had the IP's and stuff.

Realistically speaking you'd only need the ToA CD to activate your account for the ToA areas. You can download the entire DAoC client through the patcher (atleast thats what i did when my SI CD wouldn't install properly ;))
The US patcher seems to protect itself from this, if you don't have the majority of the files needed then it won't patch.
 

Brennik

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 31, 2003
Messages
57
Yea, they patched the patcher a couple of months back, before that you could download most of the game. Guess someone noticed it :p

What realm you gonna play on Merlin then, Apathy?
 

Apathy

Loyal Freddie
Joined
Dec 27, 2003
Messages
309
I'm going to be playing Midgard. Bought a bonedancer and shaman bot (yes, I like the easiest life available). And it's all totally in line with Mythic's EULA. Wooo! You can buy/sell accounts but not things like gold and itamz. Super duper.

No ToA, but since I can only play for week at a time every couple of months I am not too fussed. Such excitement! No more gimped-to-hell Alb chars for me!

And best of all...no Spaniards! Ah it will be bliss, with everyone talking in cheesy RP language and people having names like Britney and Chad IRL.

a.
*
 

Conan_81

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
3
:(

GReaper said:
If you want to try Pendragon, replace update.dat with the following information!

Classic

Code:
Mythic Patch
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/camtest/mpatch.dat
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/camtest/mpatch.dat
Shrouded Isles

Code:
Mythic Patch
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles_test/mpatch.dat
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/isles_test/mpatch.dat
Trials of Atlantis

Code:
Mythic Patch
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis_test/mpatch.dat
patch5.daoc.net:1280/updates/atlantis_test/mpatch.dat
It will download camtest.exe and tupdate.dat for the test client and the test update file. Once you've done this just change back to your original update.dat to access the normal client with camelot.exe.

Hope these posts help. :p
There is a small problem..
when patching with "Classic", i take an error:
"The Classic Camelot client is no longer supported on the Test Server (Pendragon)"
And so when patching with "Isles", or newest expansion, i take another error:
"This client cannot update your Dark Age Of Camelot installation because a large number of key files are missing or corrupted. :eek6:
Please re-install the game from your installation CD and try again" :eek2:

And now?
HEEEEeeelp plz i want to see catacombs :(
 

Flimgoblin

It's my birthday today!
Joined
Dec 24, 2003
Messages
8,324
classic is no longer supported as of 1.70F

Are you patching from a euro SI version or a euro TOA version? the US patcher won't let you install the entire game (unlike the GOA one)

Try downloading the freebie "superclassic" client from Mythic - see camelotherald.com for details.
 

GReaper

Resident Freddy
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,973
If you want to download all the files required for Shrouded Isles or Trials of Atlantis, download a European complete version and then change your update.dat to the US version.

Flimgoblin is right though, if you want to change to the new classic engine then download from FilePlanet.
 

Conan_81

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
3
re:

Flimgoblin said:
classic is no longer supported as of 1.70F

Are you patching from a euro SI version or a euro TOA version? the US patcher won't let you install the entire game (unlike the GOA one)

Try downloading the freebie "superclassic" client from Mythic - see camelotherald.com for details.
I'm trying to update the game for playing on Pendragon (the only server that test catacombs) then is US.
I've re-installed all from US-patching server, but nothing.. the same error :(
Now I try to download all from GOA and retry ;)
 

Apathy

Loyal Freddie
Joined
Dec 27, 2003
Messages
309
Asha said:
oh really?
Well not any more. I got bored really fast and attempted to resell the accounts. Got scammed and lost like £200. Ah well! I'd only have spent it on dildos and Martini anyway.

a.
*
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom