new graphics card help

Mikah75

Can't get enough of FH
afternoon
my pooter needs a new gfx card, between £100-200 PCI-Express
was browsing novatech and found these 2 options
Novatech NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB PCI Express Graphics Card - Retail : nov-88gt5
Novatech GeForce 8800GTS 320MB HDCP Enabled Dual DVI PCI Express (500MHz Core Clock) (1600MHz Memory Clock) (1200MHz Shader Clock) : nov-88gts3
im guessing the second is better?

not very good at the internals so any help is welcome please, and not save up more money to buy an even better cos i am a poor student so this is all i can stretch:p

cHodAX

I am a FH squatter
Yep the GT, uses 50watts less power under full load as well so you save more money on the electricity bill. ;)

Dukat

Resident Freddy
afternoon
my pooter needs a new gfx card, between £100-200 PCI-Express
was browsing novatech and found these 2 options
Novatech NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB PCI Express Graphics Card - Retail : nov-88gt5
Novatech GeForce 8800GTS 320MB HDCP Enabled Dual DVI PCI Express (500MHz Core Clock) (1600MHz Memory Clock) (1200MHz Shader Clock) : nov-88gts3
im guessing the second is better?

not very good at the internals so any help is welcome please, and not save up more money to buy an even better cos i am a poor student so this is all i can stretch:p

Both should be fine really, I would go for the first one given the choice, I have the second choice one in at the moment though and it runs anything on full graphics with no problems so far at all - crysis beta, cs source, supreme commander, new operation flashpoint all run really really well.

Would guess you'll get better performance with the second but doubt there will be alot in it unless you're running games in super-high res.

I actually ordered mine from novatech too :D

Laddey

FH is my second home
We havn't learned(is that a word?) anything about graphics cards in college, i'm facinated by them though.