Need me a new PC! Suggestions?

S

-shaggy-

My PC is oooooold now but its never bothered me really, it plays asherons call, champ manager, q2, q3 and jk2 fine, and as these were the only games i wanted to play i've never thought about getting a new one.

atm ive got a p3 450, 128 ram, 8gb hd, gf2 gfx card, sb live.

thinking bout getting a new machine because i fancy giving sw galaxies a go. from the sounds of it that isnt too processor dependant so i was thinking of getting something along the lines of a:

p4 1.5ish, 512 or 1gb ram, 40 gig-ish hd, gf4 fx

so really id need a new box with a cpu, ram, hd and gfx card. i don't mind keeping my cd/dvd drives, sound card, monitor, kb, mouse, speakers, isdn card etc.

been looking round at a few websites, but im out of touch knowing where to look, where to avoid etc so hopefully you lot can help me out!

what would the price of a new box with the new cpu, hd, gfx card and ram? obviously the cheaper the better, I'm a poor student!

thanks for reading.

S

-shaggy-

i thought fx's were better than mx's? have i got that backwards?

T

Testin da Cable

damn, my mistake. I'm kinda out of the nvidia scene tbh. get an ati 9600 or summat :) inasmuch as I'd advise getting a heavier cpu and a 'lighter' gfx card.

S

Scooba Da Bass

Since you're not looking for high end gear ditch the P4 and stick in an Athlon/Duron. You can get a 1.3 gig Duron for about £25.

S

-shaggy-

duron = celeron for amd isnt it? never liked the idea of shitty versions of chips. but its true i'm not looking for a high end pc.

sccoby give more advice to an old mate! soc from aq here :)

any websites i should take a look at?

V

vofflujarnid

Amd is the s00k in my oppinion. Average AMD processor is around 50-60 degrees while average p4 is around 24-30 degrees. I find AMD also unstable and I have had nothing but trouble with my AMD in the past.