Memories, like the corners of my mind...

R

Rubber Bullets

OK, there has been some heavy shit, and loads of whinging on these forums recently, so to lighten things up a bit what are your memories of CS. What was your first ever game like? What about your first kill? Best ever moment?

18 months ago I was a newbie to PC ownership, let alone keyboard and mouse control of first person shooters. Undaunted, and having played at least 2 levels of single player half-life, I decided to have a go at CS. Read the manual? WTF for? After all, just how difficult could it be?

The map was 747 as a CT, and to be honest I don’t remember much about it. I seemed to spawn in the baggage tunnel bit, and, not knowing to turn the gamma up, it was pitch dark each time. I figured out what the radar did, though I thought that the little T symbols must be the terrorists, and the upside down T symbols must therefore be the CTs. Though I hadn’t a clue what the dots were. The fact that I could see my opponents on the radar explained to me why all I ever saw in the game were a few shadowy shapes and a couple of muzzle flashes. :rolleyes:

My score quickly raced to 0-10 before I threw in the towel, licked my wounds and withdrew to play more Half-Life, and TFC.

4 months later I had more luck. My first ever kill was actually my first 2 kills. The map this time was Arab streets, and I was CT. I set off right and as the Ts came through the little gate there I mowed down 2 of them with my Aug before the third through got me. What a great feeling, even if they were the only 2 kills I got all game.