Learning Lines

Morphius

Fledgling Freddie
Well I've just seen the cast list for a play I've auditioned for and I've been given one of two main roles. I have never done anything like this before and I have no idea how to learn lines, all the acting I've done before has been done on improvisations and manipulation of texts.

Anyone got any ideas how best to learn lines?

Morph.

Lamp

Gold Star Holder!!
Read them over and over again. Then put the script to one side and try to read the lines back to yourself. Go as far as you can. Go back to the bits you can't remember. From personal experience of having to memorise large amounts of text / information parrot fashion, there's no short cut.

Hint: Record the lines onto MP3, and play in the car, when you're in the gym, and before you go to sleep.

Bugz

Fledgling Freddie
I was main role in a play once & it required a ridiculous amount of lines (prob ~10 A4 pages worth). The best way I found to learn them was interaction. Don't learn them on your own. Get your friend to play one part and you play yours and do it as you act out any movements etc. too.

Ezteq

Queen of OT
aye best thing is repetition, just think of all your fave movies and how many times you saw them before you knew them line for line, read them out loud too (you may feel a bit of a dick but it works)

Elkie

Can't get enough of FH
In my old performances I had many techniques for learning lines:

'Singing the lines' - Helps remember believe it or not.
'Saying lines over and over then put script down and repeat' - Basic technique.
'Make them fun' - I always made my lines fun because then they stick in your head more.

Need more tips just private message me.

old.Tohtori

FH is my second home
CAn't believe people haven't suggested it yet but, get a friend, GF, wife...mom:)eek7:) to read the line with you while in between you practise. This way you get some feedback also on your acting.