Help Learning foreign languages!

Raven

Happy Shopper Ray Mears
FH Subscriber
For a few years I have been thinking about learning a foreign language. German of Spanish probably. Spanish because of how many people speak it and its variances and German because the company I work for is German owned. I have a very basic German vocabulary already so German would probably be the best one to start with.

I have seen Rosetta stone advertised, does anyone have any experience with them? I would rather do it in my own time rather than go to classes etc

- English -

Resident Freddy
I have been learning Danish for 1-2 years or so (living here for 15months now), but i have been lazy really. I just don't talk it enough, and the gap between what i understand and what i can actually say (well) is getting bigger - since im hearing it everyday, but its too easy to talk English. I seem to hide behind my English barrier too much, and I wish i couldn't.

I have used the rosetta stone CD for a few months. It was very useful at the start, but after a while I got too advanced for it (think it was only level 1 or so though ;p). I found it very good for learning new words, seeing them spelt and pronounced. However, like most languages thats not the only way you learn them (or me anyway). I think theres always going to be a difference when you hear them saying it on the computer and someone saying it in real life who doesn't have a clear voice.

If you are serious about learning it, its worth a shot imo, its the best learning aid i've found - just im not sure what the costs are for it as i downloaded it.

djpringle

Pork Smuggler