Lag problems

Vodkafairy

Fledgling Freddie
Since a week or so I've gotten immense lag during primetime, spikes every half a minute lasting anywhere from a few seconds to so long I go LD.

Tonight it must have been 10 ld's in an hour, and countless of 'normal' spikes. Judging from the pingplotter I'm pretty sure its because of opentransit (surprise :rolleyes:) - but I'm no expert so maybe it's something else.

Here's some screenshots:

plotter1.jpg

plotter2.jpg

plotter3.jpg

Information that might be relevant, I have a 6400/880 kbps casema cable connection, onboard nforce network controller (checksum offload disabled) and I'm located in Breda (southwest in holland). I havn't ever experienced any kind of lag on this line whatsoever since I moved in here 6 months ago, and even during the lagspikes towards Limors cluster my connection is fine otherwise (ventrilo/irc/whatever don't lag).

Sent a rightnow report along with a pingplotter file on thursday during a while of horrible lag, but no reply yet.

Is there anything at all I can do about it?

Thanks in advance.

Darzil

Fledgling Freddie
I recommend setting samples to include to a high number, (3600 if you are recording an hour), as it'll then show more meaningful information in the %PL column.

I'd plot graphs showing steps 8, 9 and 10 as well as the last hop. If 8 is perfect, but the packetloss is similar at 9, 10 and the last hop, then 9 is likely to be your only issue. I'd have to say at the moment it appears that 9 is just not often returning pings, as though it's showing high packetloss, it's not showing high packetloss past it, which suggests it isn't 'real' packetloss.

Darzil

Gahn

Resident Freddy
Well 70% and 88.9% packet loss can quite say that's the infamous Aubervilliers shit router once again.

Darzil

Fledgling Freddie
Well 70% and 88.9% packet loss can quite say that's the infamous Aubervilliers shit router once again.