IRC on IE ?

Yuzo

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
7
is it possible to connect to irc from IE, instead of downloading mirc ?
if so whats the url ?
cheers. :)
 

Clown

Part of the furniture
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
4,292
I would also like to know some too... I lost all my shortcuts :(
A google search for CGI IRC brings up too many 'restricted' ones.
 

Will

/bin/su
Joined
Dec 17, 2003
Messages
5,259
If you have hosting, you could set up CGI:IRC, or another browser-based IRC client. You can search for them on Sourceforge. Do bear in mind that CGI:IRC is crap, and IE is an insecure piece of crap.*






*imho. ;)
 

Clown

Part of the furniture
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
4,292
Will it work with 'my' hosting William? :)
 

Will

/bin/su
Joined
Dec 17, 2003
Messages
5,259
I've not given you MySQL access, and I don't think you have CGI access either. Your ISP hosting (I assume you have some) will probably allow CGI.

I seem to remember Deebs or Jonty posting about free MySQL databases they offered via another site. If you get one of those, you can set up a PHP IRC affair. I've never tested them though, and I might get grumpy if you use too much bandwidth.

If you don't password protect it, you'll get banned from Quakenet sharpish, just like all those other CGI:IRC sites.

But unless it is for IRC from work, just use a proper IRC client. ;)
 

Clown

Part of the furniture
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
4,292
IRC from work :(
Ahh, I've survived this long without it... oh well. ;)
 

Will

/bin/su
Joined
Dec 17, 2003
Messages
5,259
My office has cunningly disabled Java apps, but if you can use them, they are a good choice.
 

Sar

Resident Freddy
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
2,140
Firebird has the Chatzilla extension.

Use it, you know it makes sense fs.

:p

:D
 

tRoG

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,440
Sar said:
Firebird has the Chatzilla extension.

Use it, you know it makes sense fs.

:p

:D
Listen, for a wise man talketh!

(Sar's the wise man. Yer.)
 

Cyfr

Banned
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,726
If you use a CGI thingie. Do you connect and chat via the irc port or port 80? (wants to get past school fw :()
 

Sharma

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
4,679
Errr you will connect to irc via port 6667-6669 just as every other thing does. :p
 

Will

/bin/su
Joined
Dec 17, 2003
Messages
5,259
No, you connect via port 80. Your webserver connects to IRC via the standard port, you connect it it via HTTP.
 

Jonty

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
1,411
Hi guys

Just a slight caveat on the use of CGI:IRC - it can place a high strain on the server it is hosted on. Whilst there are usually no problems when usage is light, if a lot of people start using it, it can cause problems (last I heard, anyway, this may have been rectified by now). I only know because certain services prohibit its use.

Kind Regards
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom