Question IP conflict.

old.Tohtori

FH is my second home
I keep getting an ip conflict message and i've always just counted it down as me and my roomie using the same network, but i'm curious if it could be a problem and if there is a solution?

old.Tohtori

FH is my second home
Network noob here so, additional help on that? :D

Also, what harm could a static ip do? Etc etc.

Dukat

Resident Freddy
Ip addresses are numerical addresses for each device on a network.

An IP address is made up of four sets of numbers which range from 0 to 255 (eg. 192.168.1.1).

Static IP addresses are IP addresses which are set and remain the same every time the PC turns on, as opposed to dynamic IP addresses which change depending on your network's settings.

If two devices on your network have the same static IP address it will cause a conflict, like the one you've got.

Easiest way to sort this out is to press 'windows key' + R, type "cmd" and then on the box that appears type "ipconfig".

On the list of info that appears one line will say IP Address....: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Check what its set to on each device on your network, if any of them are the same you'll get an IP conflict error.

To change them, it'll vary depending on your operating system but get to the Network connections bit.

(on vista: Go to the Control Panel from the Start menu. Go to "Network and Internet" and then "Network and Sharing Center." Go to "Manage network connections.")

From here it should list your connections, choose the internet/network connection you need to change the IP address for and then it should give you a screen where you can set or change it.

When changing an IP address you have to be careful because if you set it wrong you'll effectively put yourself onto another network from everyone else.

For you in this situation, simply ensuring the first three sets of numbers are the same should ensure things work properly (eg. Client1:192.168.1.1 Client2:192.168.1.2 etc)