Housing

M

Molten Lava

I have been playing Daoc for 3,5 months now and every now and then I hear something about Mythic thinking of implementing Housing. I personally think one of the things that makes a MMORPG (or a game in general) interesting is to ability to personalize you char and world. Ok we can choose different outfits etc but the game-world is static. I know you can't have 100's of players building houses anywhere in the game, but it should be really nice (and bind people to the game) if you can achieve fame in the realm by have a small castle or something.

This is my first MMORPG but what I've heard its possible to own your house in UO (and other games?) so I wonder...what would the price of a simple starters house....will it be like 1p or more in the directio of 1mithril? and what will a giant castle cost? 1000 mithril? What are cost of maintainance? Will you house degenerate if you dont have enough money to keep it in shape?and how are things arranged in UO, can you build whereever you want or are there specific places where you can build...I also heard that Shadowbane will have housing, with shops and even guards defending your house etc...is this also in the future of Daoc?

I personally would love to have a cottage in Emain...somewhere in the middle of the valley :) Own flag, some guards around it (which will be ganked continously :) and some merchants to sell my drops/crafted items

P

- Pathfinder -

Houses are for Guilds, not characters. I detested that UO let people build hosues virtually anywhere; no secluded sppot without some ugly house :(

Most likely there will be severe restrictions on where you can put these houses.

T

Turamber

Guildhalls are set to be introduced shortly I believe. I know where you are coming from with this idea, but if that was introduced we'd have even more people walking around with multiple platinums in their pocket whilst the relic keep doors need repairing.