Help with XML guild cards

Arcee

Loyal Freddie
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
127
Im lookign for some information on how to get XML guild member cards for my guilds signatures.

There is one website i have found that produces these -
http://www.vanen.planet-multiplayer.de/

But i want unique ones for my own guild.

Here are some examples -

http://vanen.planet-multiplayer.de/cards/LexVitae/Nyana.jpg
http://vanen.planet-multiplayer.de/cards/Requiem/Nyane.jpg

They do have a XML scripting forum on that site, but i cant understand German.

Anyone know of an english site with info on how to do this?

Cheers
 

pixie.pebr

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
75
Not knowing PHP very well (but reading up on it), I'd say you need to get the data from the XML and put it in a variable, then import the backgroundimage with the PHP command 'imageCreateFromGif' and add the text from the XML on top of it with the 'imageString' command.

No easy way to explain it, especially since I don't know exactly how to myself yet.
But look up imagemanipulation with PHP, since that is what you need.
 

Takhasis

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
1,078
I have just finished writing one that lets u specify the following:

picture name (any url to a jpg)
guild ID (on excal only for now)
char name (so it can find u)

just doin some final testing, hope to post it tomorrow - stay tuned.
 

Arcee

Loyal Freddie
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
127
Good job m8. Looking nice.

Would you be able to help me in anyway? Would i need special webspace to host the pictures? How does it work?
 

Takhasis

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
1,078
its written in PHP, so u need a website that will support PHP, the pictures can be anywhere on the web, because the way i've written it, you call the php with the link to the pic.

If i can get it uploaded to my guild site today, i'll post example link here and u can try it..
 

Teknoid

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
66
Nice work.
Could you please post your PHP code used for this, would be nice feature to have as a forum sigi. or just have your own website showing your char stats (something i am working on now but i need the XML data to be updated again on exc)

thx
 

Takhasis

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
1,078
All done now, just tryin to find a host for it... :)

Some more examples...
 

Attachments

Teknoid

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
66
some great work. look forward to seeing the code, hope you can add a little documents/comments so that i have a small idea what i am looking at, i havent touched php in ages 0_o
 

Arcee

Loyal Freddie
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
127
Im not sure if my webspace (Blueyonder) supports PHP, but i could always buy some space i suppose for this purpose.
 

Takhasis

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
1,078
ok peeps here you go :)

link to zip file with the charlogo.php and the fancy font file (mael)

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/nsviper/charlogo.renametozip

Place them on your server that support php in any folder ALONG WITH tahomabd.ttf ( i assume u can get hold of this yourself :))

Example call to the file (can be an IMG SRC=blah blah call)

//http://##your website##/charlogo/charlogo.php?pic=http://##any website link to any size picture##/stealth.jpg&guild=65&name=Takhasis%20DragonSlayer&txtcol=L&txtpos=TL

// pic=url of pic - can be anywhere and any size
// guild=guildid (currently excal only, but easy enough to change the charlogo.php
// name=charname (EXACT spelling please)
// txtcol=colour (L or D) for light or dark text
// txtpos = TL, TR, BL, BR, CC = Top Left, Top Right, Bottom Left, Bottom Right, Centre

Hope it works ok for u guys :)
 

Celery

One of Freddy's beloved
Joined
Dec 24, 2003
Messages
60
Nice work :)

Where can I find a Guild listing that shows me my Guilds' number in the XML ?

I've found this before, but for the life of me I can't remember where :m00:
 

inqy

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
458
Code:
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: imagecreatefromjpeg()
in D:\appdata\web\webserver\daoc\charlogo.php on line 156
:(

(php server running locally)
 

inqy

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
458
fixed. search for extension=php_gd2.dll if anyone else has that problem and make sure it's not commented out.
 

Takhasis

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
1,078
php file on the link above updated for 1 new parameter srvr

when calling the php use srvr=Excalibur for excal guilds, pyrdwen etc etc etc

u can work it out ;)

PS, if u miss txtcol, txtpos, or srvr from the call, then they default to D,TL, and excalibur
 

Celery

One of Freddy's beloved
Joined
Dec 24, 2003
Messages
60
inqy said:
Code:
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: imagecreatefromjpeg()
in D:\appdata\web\webserver\daoc\charlogo.php on line 156
:(

(php server running locally)
Same error here although I'm running on Linux - looks like I have to recompile PHP with GD support :p
 

Wildfire

Fledgling Freddie
Joined
Jan 10, 2004
Messages
320

Takhasis

Can't get enough of FH
Joined
Dec 23, 2003
Messages
1,078
Wildfire said:
trying to work out whats gone wrong here;

http://www.teamshs.com/wildfire/php...l.jpg&guild=391&name=Ptora&txtcol=L&txtpos=TL

files on server:

http://www.teamshs.com/wildfire/php/charlogo.php
http://www.teamshs.com/wildfire/php/mael.ttf
http://www.teamshs.com/wildfire/php/tahomabd.ttf
www.teamshs.com/wildfire/images/xanxicar_small.jpg

edit: should be noted that i dont know how to use PHP so ive just done what seems logical to me to get it working using my own files and data

http://camelot-europe.goa.com/herald/servers/excalibur/guilds/391.xml

Its failing because your guild ID 391 does not exist as an XML file on the excalibur server - is this right? have u checked your guild id?

(edit) ah, seems the guild pages are unavailable at the moment - goa just finishing off fixing the XML pages...

http://camelot-europe.goa.com/herald/servers/Excalibur/guilds/391.xml

(edit 2) seems the host for the XML is CASE SENSITIVE for the server name, try calling the php with srvr=Excalibur or editing the php to change the default srvr (somewhere at the top of the code) to Excalibur... If i call the php on my guild website with your parameters and srvr=Excalibur it works fine...
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom