Help Flickr and image use / permission

old.user4556

Has a sexy sister. I am also a Bodhi wannabee.
Freds,

A dude sent me a mail through Flickr and politely introduced himself as a graphic designer who produced marketing material for companies / charities and was interested in using an image I took recently (a sunset shot in Loch Lomond) for some promotional material in relation to Scottish Lochs.

Now, the image isn't outstanding, but it's technically fine and would work well for a stock photography shot for the aforementioned marketing material (I'd expect it would be covered with words and promotional waffle, so the image is not the main focal point and just a background really).

I don't want money for it, I like photography as a hobby, but I've never done this before (i.e. let someone use my image for a commercial purpose) and it seemed like a good way to get the foot in the door of possible supply of stock footage.

He mentioned that he would send an electronic version of the marketing material to me and that I would "of course" be credited on the marketing material. I went back to him with the following points:

- what sort of marketing material would it be?
- if for example it was to be used for leaflets, how many leaflets would you be planning to print and issue?
- would it be physical and/or electronic marketing material?
- how wide a geographic audience are likely to see the image?
- would I be credited per item of marketing material (e.g. on each leaflet / web page / poster etc.)?
- would it be possible to send me through electronic and physical examples of your material using my image?

Is there anything else I need to watch so that I don't get ripped off? Should I send something in writing (or email) stipulating exactly how he can and can't use the image? Am I missing anything else?

Cheers

Tom

I am a FH squatter