dual os - winXP/Linux; is it possible?

P

Predator3

This might not be the best place to ask but i give it a try anyway :)

It use to work with windows 2000/ME but now it can't write to mbr and linux crashes upon shutdown....

Thanks
Predator3

O

old.Reverend Flatus

A few more details might help...

P

Predator3

Hi my primairy system is winxp pro (ntfs) and my secondairy system is suse linux 7.4 (linux partitions)

Problem is: i can only boot linux with the bootdisk i made (it wont let me write to mbr) and i cant exit my linux system, it crashes bad when i want to exit..

Installed any updates for linux but still does not work. I did work fine when i used suse 6.4 with windows 2000/ME...

Thanks

O

old.Reverend Flatus

I've no experience with WinXP, however...
Are you saying that you used to be able to dual boot but can't now, or have you always had to boot from a floppy?
Also, when it crashes, what error messages do you see and how are you shutting down the system?

S

Sawtooth

dunno much about doing this but I know you can have a dual XP/Linux system...read it in the crappy XP manual you get with the disk...funny enuff i dont usually read this stuff but i had a strange prob when I put a dodgy dimm in and came across it then when I was lookin up the error message.

Saw

P

Predator3

thanks for your replies. WinXP works fine.. its just that i cant get the dual boot to work (because yast cant write it to mbr) and more important i can't get linux to shut down - i dont get any messages i just get a black screen and my system is locked up and my pc makes funny noises.

Also due to the shutdown i have to mount the disks everytime i start linux. Ive looked a the windows documentation but i didnt find anything about this

Only linux is a problem. I use to run winme/2000 pro with linux with dual doot, worked fine then....

O

old.Reverend Flatus

Originally posted by Predator3
its just that i cant get the dual boot to work (because yast cant write it to mbr)