Delaying release, how long is too long?

Faeldawn

Fledgling Freddie
Seen a lot of websites toting Q4 2008 as expected release date...now im sure no-one here knows for certain if this is accurate, prolly EA don't even know yet, but it seems a long, long way off for a game most were initially expecting to have been released some time ago.

I'm a big advocate of dev teams getting things right before release and delaying a game to get it fixed, rather than rush a broken version out to the general public (helooooo SWG!!), but a game in beta for such a long time is surely going to suffer when released by being almost 2 years outdated from the off?

Do dev teams develop the game engine as they increase the beta testing period, or is it the same basic engine they devised some 2 years prior to release?

Kremlik

Fledgling Freddie
Well making the 'complete' MMO is near impossibile, very few MMOs if any have actally release with all intended content, even less resently, in fact most havn't been 'complete' till a good 6 months after release.. If delays happen delays happen..

Plus wasn't AoC due out late 2006?

Oh on the engine front i've seen a lot of then 'evole' during the beta and even futher post (EvE and LOTRO good examples of good evolotions), so unless you've been in WAR's beta since the start we can only guess

Enli

Fledgling Freddie
Seen a lot of websites toting Q4 2008 as expected release date...
a good guess, i think it will be Q4 or late Q3

And yes i'm in beta but also speculating for us when it comes to release date. Guild beta hasn't started yet and that will also take a little while. Then open beta for a bit to come finally to release. It'll be under the christmas tree !!! :)

GReaper

Part of the furniture