Help Degree advice!

Raven

Happy Shopper Ray Mears
FH Subscriber
I am starting computing and IT degree (possibly with a 2nd subject) with the OU soon. Its a pretty broad degree subject wise and I can pick and chose a couple of modules. At the moment I think I am going to aim at software rather than networking and if I do a 2nd subject it would likely be business.

I want to get as prepared as possible to give myself a head start between now and October when I start the degree. Hardware wise I am reasonably comfortable as a home user, I build, maintain and problem solve on my own high end PC and am usually the person friends come to first with PC problems. I also help the IT guy out at work with general MS issues, he is there 2 days a week and when not there I sort shit out with his remote assistance if necessary.

What I am after is some good self teaching Java courses and maybe some sort of Linux for noobs (or a good version of Linux to start fiddling with). Has anyone self taught Linux? Free would be great! but cheap would do!

Lakih

Resident Freddy
I have sort of self taught Linux. Not to the point where i can troubleshoot without heavy use of Google, but well enough for everyday use. I just jumped in at the deep end and installed Ubuntu 10.4 and used it as my home server. Set up ftp server, torrent bot, lots of automation and secure access.

As for your studies, business is a good 2nd subject. If you like security and law that's a good combination too i think (computer security and law).

Why do you want to learn Java?

Lakih

Resident Freddy
Btw, I just used the official ubuntu forums to learn what i needed, no courses or books or stuff like that.

Shagrat

I am a FH squatter
i agree with Lakih, you shouldn't need to buy too much documentation linux wise. I know when I dabbled a while ago and built a nagios server from scratch I again just "self taught" and used the forums and google to fill in any gaps.

caLLous

I am a FH squatter
FH Subscriber