Computer that won't boot

D

dr_jo

I'm really really stuck, and I'm also not really a techie, so any answers would need to be in plain english :)

I run windows XP.

I switched on my computer, and got this message: "Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
<windows roo>\system32\hal.dll"

I tried using my XP install disk to repair it, and the file came up as being there on dir. I tried copying it, renaming it, deleting it and "expanding" a new version on, but it wouldn't let me do any of it. It always said "access denied" or "cannot find file"

I also tried attrib to stop it being read only, but it said it couldn't find the file.

I'm completely stumped. Any ideas?

S

(Shovel)

Erk... that doesn't sound very nice...

I googled around a bit, and checked the Microsoft Knowledgebase as well:

Threw up this: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;330184

It doesn't seem to add up, since it seems to suggest that the problem comes from upgrading to XP - not on an install that's 9 months old. Very, very, strange. However, it may well be worth a look. The instructions in the link are probably better than me trying to rehash them, so I shall refer to them :)
I *think* it's possible to start up the recovery console with network support, if so I'd recommend making a backup of boot.ini to one of the other machines, since there's no floppy disk drive on your machine :)

Have you been able to enter safe mode? If you can, you can log in as the "Administrator" account - which I think should allow you to exchange systems files. If not, then again it's probably going to be the recovery console solution.

P

PR.

Originally posted by dr_jo
I'm really really stuck, and I'm also not really a techie, so any answers would need to be in plain english :)

I run windows XP.

I switched on my computer, and got this message: "Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt: