Can you work without career progression?

Bugz

Fledgling Freddie
Interesting question I think. Are you happy to stay in the same job position for the rest of your career or do you feel you want to progress, move up in ranks, take on more responsibility etc.?

I'm still a uni student but kind of got that feeling with my current part-time job. I've achieved everything I can achieve there, short of becoming a duty manager and being a full-timer. There's nothing that new to learn, the same procedure occurs every day and it just sucks knowing that tomorrow there won't be an extra responsibility I can take on or something like that.

Makes me dread the future, if I end up in some job with no promotion prospects, working the same routine day in day out!

SilverHood

FH is my second home
Right now, no. But work is challenging and will be for another 3-4 years. If I had family, kids etc, then I might not care about progression if work was easy and I was paid well.

nath

Fledgling Freddie
I actually quit my job because they were offering me some quite good career progression, it's just that I found the prospect utterly soul destroying. As a result, I ended up going freelance (computer fixeryupper) and as far as I'm concerned it's the best situation for me. Not a full time job, book appointments when I want, potential for more money and more free time.

Ultimately, I feel much the same as the chap from Office Space - when asked "what would you do if you won the lottery" his response was ".... absolutely nothing", i.e. watch TV, hang about doing sweet fa. Currently I'm happy to earn enough money to get by with no further aspirations - who knows if that'll change in the future.

Tom

I am a FH squatter
I'd rather change jobs than move up the ladder tbh. I tend to think that climbing through the ranks is an indicator that you're not happy with work.

Mind you I've never had a full time job so what do I know.

Raven

Fuck the Tories!
FH Subscriber