Booked server problem!

O

old.Mandy

Hi all.

I'm a newbie here and have a question. I booked a server for our UiQ clan last sunday on server 6. The problem was, that anyone who didn't move for 10 seconds was kicked. Spectating was also impossible and when you got kicked, there was another problem. When you reconnected again, there was a password problem (invalid password). The only way to get in, was to quit your game and start over again. We changed the interactive, but it still happened. Are there more players or clans with this problem?

Greetzz from Mandy.

C

Chameleon

Hi

Getting kicked from the server usually occurs when someone connects with a password, the password is changed while you are on the server, then when a game is started, a map is changed, or similar event occurs, it picks up the person has the previous password and kicks them.

The fact that people were kicked, then found that they had the wrong password when they tried to reconnect seems to indicate its related to clients on the server having a previous password set, or joined the server when it was passwordless (or private clients were not set) and didnt enter the password before an change of some sort on the server.
Do they use gamespy and maybe entered a password previously in the password box?
The method to use which will cause least problems is to startup q3 yourself, by executing the .exe (i.e. not doing it through gamepsy or similar browser), then bring down the console (key left of 1 and above tab) and type

/connect xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
/password yyyyyyyy

obviously where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx is the IP and yyyyyyyy is the password.

I know this doesn't entirely explain the problems, but I wonder if some of what you describe could be interpreted the way you describe at the time.

Ch@m

O

old.dredded

Errrrrr))

ive seen this on a few servers at barrys,
seems if u sit there on a server (bookable)
u get kicked due to Inactivity if u are a spectator.