Film Blue-ray barely better than DVD

Ormorof

FH is my second home
Blu-ray barely better than DVD ? reghardware

so, basically the way it sounds to me is that most people THINK theres a big difference, but in reality only films/shows filmed specifically for HD/3D/whatever (Avatar etc) will actually show any difference?

personally i have little experience with HD having never owned a HD capable player or watched any HD channels

so is there a difference or is at hoodoo vooodoo marketing from Sony et al?

Raven

Fuck the Tories!
FH Subscriber
Can't tell a huge difference but then most DvDs are up-scaled by the AV equipment anyway.

I think bluerays are marginally better.

I have HD for TV anyway and there most certainly is a difference between standard and HD :)

old.Tohtori

FH is my second home
I think the biggest difference comes from believing there's a big difference.

There's a difference ofcourse, one that would go by most people if not shown and only those hifi nerds would go "Meeeeh this is not blublu!"

Shagrat

I am a FH squatter
I think the biggest difference comes from believing there's a big difference.

so much the same as the guy who used to turn up in your village selling medicine to make your hair grow etc....

im pretty sure people used to get tarred and feathered for that sort of thing.

FuzzyLogic

Kicking squealing Gucci little piggy
No surprise that poorly made transfers are either inferior or identical to the previous generation format. Happened on DVD (see Gremlins for a particularly bad transfer) and it'll happen on whatever comes next.

It all depends on what the studios spend on remastering the negatives and what the features were filmed on. If they don't put the effort in it shows, some are pretty much using their DVD masters and just sticking it onto bluray.

Saying that Bluray is all snake oil isn't strictly true but as with anything the effort needs to be made in order to see the improvement.

Lamp

Gold Star Holder!!