ADSL Line Negotiation

L

leggy

Righty ho.

After losing my beloved cable connection due to relocation I have had to share a single 512k dsl line with 1 other person.

So here's the thing: I bought a nice Netgear dsl router with built in modem to share the connetion. At first glance everything seems to be hunky dory. Pings are lower, no cutouts etc.

Then i started playing a couple of MP games. As soon as my flat mate opens his web browser or downloads anything for that matter my ping rockets, my connection chokes and i start lagging around the screen like a CSer on a 56k modem.

This never happened when i shared my cable connection which had the same download bandwidth and half the upload bandwidth.

So i'm not sure what to do. I thought about getting a proggy to throttle the bandwidth on each pc so that one doesn't try to hog the whole pipe. Other than that i'm not sure how to solve it.

If any of you can help i'd really appreciate it. I would also appreciate it if you didn't tell me to get a linux/BSD box and run it as a router ... pretty please as this just isn't going to happen atm.

Thanks in advance.

Legz0r

D

domin8or

get yourself a 1.100 bps modem. It's fast, it's stable and it has massive download rate!

U

[UKLans]Khan

I had the same prob when I had ADSL, there is a free proxy server that supports bandith throttling but I can't find a link for it at the moment, you could run that and throttle the other user.

I'll try to find it.

Khan

T

Testin da Cable

but that will involve putting a poota with that proxy between the two pc's and the router. Leggy, it seems your router is trying to cater fully to both your needs at once.
I'd advise checking if there's any new modem firmware or something like that which may solve your issue. try googling for <modem type, problems> and stuff. good luck!

L

leggy

I've recently upgraded the firmware in an attempt to solve this. No Joy.

I'll googlise the problem.

W

Will