tis tuff for n00bs

R

Rei-Ki

lo,

i'm new to wc3 and rts in general having played CS for 18 months and laterly DAoC for the past 4 months.

i have to say im finding it a bit tuff - even against the AI - there doesnt seem to be too much in the options to turn down to help me a bit.

as for online, well forget it - most custom game state ' NO n00bs ' and even if they dont im gettin hammered - not just beaten - buttraped !!

i know - practise, practise, practise.... but has any1 got any tips / pointers for a struggling newbie?

i luv the game, just wish i was better at it

cheers, thx.

ps. i hope sum1 reads this - this forum looks alarmingly unused.

C

.Cask

I decided to bite the bullet and ordered this a few days ago. Planning to beat the single player, then play a few tcp/ip games against friends before I try out bnet. Will probably start out with 1v1 bnet games so I can't fook it up for any of my allys...

We don't want a repeat of my starcraft debut. That was a 4v4 game and I decided to build a ton of sunken colonies outside my base while I teched up. My allys started getting killed and started calling me names like "suck shit brown". Took me a while to recover from that but I got good eventually.

Was mean to arrive today, gutted :(

R

Rei-Ki

thx for the tips ppl -

when you get the game, if you wanna tcp/ip game, post on here and we can get a 1 v 1 sorted.

that way we'll be upsetting no1 but will have real opposition.

cheers, thx.

C

.Cask

Yeah that sounds good.

Might take me a while to complete the single player though, considering the speed I'm getting through NWN (bought it at release and just finished chapter 1!). Although I do think that game is total turd.

C

.Cask

Got the game yesterday and just failed my first mission. The one on the undead campagin where you have to defend the guy summoning the demon. He died with 9 seconds left on the clock :(