Thinking about a TFT

B

Big G

All

Currently, I have an Iiyama Vision Master Pro 450 19" and i love it to pieces. The only problem: it's beige. The rest of my PC/Hifi/Home Cinema is black, so the CRT is due to be replaced with a black monitor. However, it seems a good time to jump to a black TFT for a few more bob.

I'm an avid gamer (CS, quake3, bit of UT2003) and DVD watcher, so low response times are a must. I've been looking at two flat panels:

Hitachi CML174SXWB 17"

and

Hercules ProphetView 920 Pro 17"

The Hitachi has a 16ms response, the Hercules has a 20ms response. The reviews of the Hercules say it's brilliant for gaming and that they can't really fault it at all for gaming/DVD watching. I'm struggling to find reviews of the Hitachi.

Can anyone recommend one over the other? or have personal experience of either of them?

Any advice welcome

G

C

.Cask

You're gonna spend £300+ for a smaller monitor with a crappier picture just so it won't clash with your other electronic devices? You're nuts :p

Can I have your old one?

B

Big G

Smaller?

Slightly

Crapper picture?

Well, i daresay the geometry is going to be a damn sight better than the CRT and much sharper too. I use an older flat panel at work and I find it much better than using a CRT.

Why not get matching colours if you have the cash. I wanted a black monitor, so I'm going to sell this 19" and use the money to put towards a new one.

And no, you can't have it (unless you have £150 spare).

G

J

jaba

exxie, what are the colours like on it? I read reviews that said if the response time was around 16ms it sacrificed colour depth for speed, this true?

E

exxxie

Colours are a lot better than my two previous CRT monitors, but the thing I still notice most tho is the clarity of image (at 1280 the native rez) and the great brightness with no reflection ever. Applies to all TFT with DVI-D tho I suppose.

X

Xavier