Struggling to understand... the use of Flash

Brit

Fledgling Freddie
Watching the OB registration process stagger online this morning, collapse, resurrect briefly, then fall asthmatically to the floor again... was not entirely unexpected. An eyebrow became raised however when I realised the entire experience was Flash driven...

Whilst I seek alternative entertainment to pass the time during repeated rounds of 'Spinning Wheel Of Death Code 414' (box game version coming soon!) I can't help but wonder why any part of this site apart from some gimmicky bits weren't kept in nice'n'simple HTML?

Andyredbeard

Fledgling Freddie
That is a very good question, one which I have asked many times myself. Unfortunately I can not come up with a reasonable answer. Are they perhaps sponsored by Adobe?

Grimlorn

Fledgling Freddie
Yeah I don't understand flash either. Isn't an entire flash site a bad thing? I'm not very experienced with websites, but I don't know of any good, popular flash websites.

I think the few I have been on were all bad or had problems pretty regularly, but I can't be sure. I just think it's odd that people warn them about a flash site and they still keep it.

Runoff

Fledgling Freddie
It would mean retraining or employing new web designers, More than likley same guy been working with the web stuff from Daoc days and their loyalty to him/her means they will only use flash. Certainally not very many people in the customer base like Flash and have expressed so many times. Just get same "This isnt open for Discussion" Topic closed ignorance.

mrbandersnatch

Fledgling Freddie
I hate flash websites with a passion. Managers tend to love them though. Several times I've had to raise the DDA to management bods to get them to put at least a BASIC level of accessibility into a sites design specs. Heck even with the knowledge that the sites are in breach of UK legislation many STILL don't see why they should be practicing "accessible design".