So.. Does the free DAOC trial really work?

Boni

Fledgling Freddie
This weekend I managed to persuade a friend to play DAOC for the first time!

We visited the webbie and filled out the forms, downloaded the client (noting that the percentage done bar clearly doesnt cope with the size of the download, it was 100% full after only about 1/3 was downloaded). Anyway, the problem is bascially that he didnt recieve the e-mail that should be sent with his password / account details etc.

After 4 days of waiting for an email, we filled out the forms again, and waited and waited... Still no reply..

So, the question is, does this stuff work? What could have gone wrong?

Im a games programmer myself, so you can discount the usual n00b errors. I even sat and said 'make sure you type your email address correctly' and checked the forms myself as I know a small error there could cause problems.

Ive checked that he has no spam filters installed, so its not being 'diverted' elsewhere. It just seems that his mail isnt being dispatched.

Any help appreciated.

Tilda

The last time I tried it worked fine.
Have you tried registering with a non-webmail address? Firstly because hotmail accounts often delay messages but a up to a day or so. Secondly because some webmail accounts will automatically block noreply email addresses.
I passed this on to GM's and they will test and report back :)

Rub

One of Freddy's beloved
never had problems with emails from GOA

rampant

Can't get enough of FH
could you be using an email account already registered with GOA? they dont seem to be able to cope with having multiple accounts on one email (unless you do it through the subs screen :) )

Boni

Fledgling Freddie
Tilda said:
The last time I tried it worked fine.
Have you tried registering with a non-webmail address? Firstly because hotmail accounts often delay messages but a up to a day or so. Secondly because some webmail accounts will automatically block noreply email addresses.